Sprink Notes

Cataclysm Bucket List: Loremaster, Eastern Kingdoms Complete!

Posted on: June 3, 2010

That’s One Quarter of the Cataclysm Bucket List Finished!

This is the one item on everyone’s Cataclysm Bucket List… and it’s on mine, too. That’s right. Loremaster. I want to finish it before Cataclysm. I want to see the world, as it were, before it’s lost and gone forever. So, where did I start? Well, where Sprink started: Eastern Kingdoms. And, having completed both the exploration and loremaster requirements for that continent, there are a few things that really stood out.

Screw You, Blackrock Spire

No really. Screw you. If I never, ever, EVAR have to go back into you for anything, it will be too soon. What was that? Cataclysm is going to involve a lot of Blackrock? AAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH!

In case I never mentioned it, I get horribly lost in ‘vertical’ style dungeons. If it’s a matter of navigating a horizontal only map with minimal vertical movement, I’m solid. But, for some reason, throw a y-axis in there and I’m screwed. I can’t find my way into or out of either Blackrocks without using the Direbrew remote. Yup. I’m that bad. For a fire mage, you’d think I’d be able to navigate a volcano better…

I Love You, Darrowshire

Excellent questline. Even if you’re not doing Loremaster, do that quest line. It’s one of the most touching, involved questlines in the game. I haven’t totally completed it since the quest bugged out at the end, but I’m going to do it.

Tarren Mill

I do and I don’t miss you, Tarren Mill. You were terribly busy when I was the appropriate level for the area. All those level ?? Alliance just running around like they owned the place, and my little level 20something fire mage dying to everything with a red name. This time around, I’m the level ?? to the Alliance players. That is, assuming I could find any. Which isn’t to say I planned on ganking the lowbies. I’m more the type that waits until you’ve just finished killing something, then –poof– you’re a rabbit. I’m more of the mischievous ganker than a malicious ganker. ~_^ But I was surprised nonetheless at just how dead most of these old areas are. Not a soul. Not even a levelling alt, thanks to the dungeon finder letting you sit in a major city and level that way.

And Now, To Kalimdor!

I’m currently about 200+ quests into the Kalimdor part of this mission just from when I was leveling. Most people have been telling me just how hard Kalimdor can be, but I’m pretty confident I’ll be able to get through it without losing too much hair.

I hope. ^_^

6 Responses to "Cataclysm Bucket List: Loremaster, Eastern Kingdoms Complete!"

Now I feel lame for sporting a server-first pre-nerf Loremaster title. Oh wait, no… I feel AWESOME. /flex

The Darrowshire quest chain is and always will be one of the best chains in the game. Even before Fordring’s return in Wrath. Seriously, that’s some touching scripting right there. (Remember to get a screencap at the end. That’s a definite keeper.)

For Kalimdor, don’t forget to hit both sides of the Magram/Gelkis centaur chains in Desolace and of course the AQ chain. Nothing feels quite so awesome as soloing a spawned vanilla outdoor raid boss.

If you haven’t seen it already, Cranius’ “Darrowshire” is one of the very best examples of WoW machinima anywhere, and really captures the poignancy of the questline.

Well, this doesn’t happen often. I confused two different chains. While the Darrowshire chain is indeed one of the greats, I was thinking of the Redemption chain with Tirion and Taelan Fordring. I was *cough* wrong.

Good luck! I think I am about 200 quests from completing the Kalimdor portion. Going back to Desolace for those quests just makes me want to hurl. lol!

Wow, congratulations. I am far too lazy for this kind of thing – but I love the Darrowshire questline, it’s beautiful. And, not being on a PvP server, I actually enjoy Hillsbrad. It’s just openly so fucked up – “hey you, go over there and some drive some peasants out of their homes.” WIN!

@Veng
I still have to do the other side of the centaur, and I just stepped foot into Silithis, so I feel like I’m pretty much right on track for Kalimdor… I hope. ^_^

@Bri
I love Cranius’ work. Darrowshire is great, as is his contribution in ‘Ulduar’. I supposed it doesn’t help that I liked the song Ulduar was based off of before even hearing it, though… ^_^

@Markus
I feel your pain. I’m about 120ish from finishing Kalimdor right now, and it’s starting to get a little dry in the quests around here.

@Tam
I thought I was too lazy to do this, too, but I really only do about 10-20 quests a day before calling it. There’s still time for you! ~_^ Hillsbrad is pretty messed up, but on a PvP server you spend more time calculating where to quest with the shortest corpse run when you’re ganked than really taking in the scenery.

Comments are closed.

RSS What Has Sprink Been Up To?

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

  • Sprink: @Veng I still have to do the other side of the centaur, and I just stepped foot into Silithis, so I feel like I'm pretty much right on track for Kali
  • Tam: Wow, congratulations. I am far too lazy for this kind of thing - but I love the Darrowshire questline, it's beautiful. And, not being on a PvP server
  • Markus: Good luck! I think I am about 200 quests from completing the Kalimdor portion. Going back to Desolace for those quests just makes me want to hurl.

What’s That, Back There?

