Sprink Notes

BAST: Friends and Enemies in Odd Places

Posted on: March 4, 2010

The World, The Warcraft, It’s Everywhere!

This is a Blog Azeroth Shared Topic.

The question: Have you ever been out and about, minding your own business, having a casual conversation with a friend and fellow WoW player about the latest patch or last night’s dungeon, then some random stranger comes up to you and says something like, “Hey, I’m sorry, I couldn’t help but overhear, but do you guys play WoW? I’ve got a level XX [race] [class] on [server]”?

This question comes up a lot in my line of work. For those that don’t know, I work in computer repair. The place I work at also builds computers… including gaming rigs. And what is the gaming rig most requested? You guessed it. One that plays WoW. So I hear this question a lot, surprisingly, and completely out of the blue.

The question comes up in different ways. I’ve heard everything from “Have you heard of this game? It’s called World of Warcraft…” to “Do you play WoW?” It all depends on how it’s asked, how I respond. Perhaps it’s that I’m a girl in a room full of guys (usually), but I do try to play down how much I actually know about the game… that and for as much fun as getting paid to talk about WoW can be, I do have other responsibilities at work. All my coworkers know I play WoW, and even though one of them used to play, they all crack jokes about it. I don’t hide that I play WoW, but I don’t really offer it up either.

Which leads us to the next question people always ask. “Horde or Alliance?” By the way the question is asked, you can instantly tell which faction that person plays. Be it the tone of their voices, or how they ask it — “Horde or Ally?” or “For the Alliance or Horde?” — you can usually tell. And, based on what they seem to play, i tell them either about my Alliance characters, or my Horde ones. Now, I do have a lot more to say about my Horde ones, and sometimes… sometimes, I am purposefully antagonistic. Oh, you play Alliance? My mage, and to a lesser extent my pally, are champions of the Horde.

There is one gentleman, and I use the term in the looser than an blood elf drunk off magic on prom night sort of way, who I made the mistake of telling him I played Horde… and he played Alliance. Now, every time he calls for technical support, or to hear about whether or not he needs a video card upgrade, I have to hear about how his boomkin kills everything ever. Ugh. And I’m just too damn nice to say that I don’t care. I’m more than half tempted, every time he walks in, to roll up a Horde character (probably a pally, those are OP right now, right? ~_^) on his server, level it to 80, deck it out in PvP gear, and just chain gank.

But that’s a touch of work frustration bleeding into my escapism. ~_^

And while it’s nice every now and again to be able to say, “No, this won’t fix your lag in Dalaran, but it will fix your framerates in dungeons,” I tend to keep my WoW playing habits on the down low. Not because I’m embarrassed, but because I don’t think that’s how I should be known. I don’t want to be ‘that girl that plays WoW’… even though we know girls don’t exist on the internet. ^_^

Tags:

2 Responses to "BAST: Friends and Enemies in Odd Places"

The only time I ever bring up WoW at work is if someone is picking up a time card or one of the x-pacs. I make the casual “So. Alliance of Horde?” statement and proceed. Sometimes it’s a quick chat. Others… not so much. I gave a guy tips on DK tanking, and a week later he CALLED THE STORE to ask me to help him respec!

Sometimes I’ll mention how I USED to play Alliance… but only if people inquire. For the most part I just chat. It’s funny, though, how a majority of my Horde customers sound die-hard Horde, whereas my Alliance customers “have been considering faction change”… or are just now buying WotLK. Heh.

[…] Sprink Notes If you have enjoyed this entry. Please feel free to bookmark it using your favorite social bookmarking site […]

Comments are closed.

RSS What Has Sprink Been Up To?

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

  • Sprink: @Veng I still have to do the other side of the centaur, and I just stepped foot into Silithis, so I feel like I'm pretty much right on track for Kali
  • Tam: Wow, congratulations. I am far too lazy for this kind of thing - but I love the Darrowshire questline, it's beautiful. And, not being on a PvP server
  • Markus: Good luck! I think I am about 200 quests from completing the Kalimdor portion. Going back to Desolace for those quests just makes me want to hurl.

What’s That, Back There?

