Sprink Notes

BAST: The Lich King Is Dead, Long Live the Lich King

Posted on: January 29, 2010

The real Sprink, the mage Sprink, Tirralyis, Luracae, and Karabel all chime in on the future after the Lich King.

Welcome to a Blog Azeroth Shared Topic. Late, but better than never? ^_^

The question: What happens to Azeroth after Arthas kicks it? What do you think happens to people, factions, etc. What do my characters think happen next? How do I feel? What… now?

Well, considering this is the first expansion I’ve seen from start to end, I’m not entirely sure how I’m going to feel. There will be a sense of accomplishment, I’m sure. I mean, I leveled from 1-80 a mage, by then a paladin and a death knight, and I’ve managed to set myself up as a reasonable player who knows her class well enough. However, I think there will be a sense of… loss, almost?

The best way I can describe this is using an example from previous games I’ve played. The PS2 game, Star Ocean: Till The End of Time, that I picked up the day it came out. Side note: my friends and I made cracks, since the game was delayed so many times, that it wouldn’t come out until the end of time… bad pun. Anyway, as a fan of the Star Ocean series I played that game from the moment I got home from class/work until I went to sleep. Every day. And then I entered the last dungeon. And I stopped playing. For a while. For a long while. My friends asked me why I hadn’t beaten it yet, since I was so geeked about the story, and the only answer I could come up with was, “I didn’t want it to end.” Yup. I liked the game so much that I didn’t want to see the ending. Weird, eh? Did it again with Final Fantasy XII… and I am known by my friends as the Final Fantasy goddess, she who you can call at a moment’s notice and get random information from boss strategies to character idiosyncrasies. I pride myself on the ability to say I’ve played and beaten almost all Final Fantasy games this side of the pond. (For those that are interested, I-X, X-2, Tactics, Tactics Advance, Mystic Quest, and XII are my games) So, to have me back off on a game because I didn’t want it to end seemed exceptionally odd. The fact that the Lich King, at least Arthas as the Lich King, will be no more is kind of depressing, in a way.

My characters though, at least a few of them, will have their own opinions I’m sure.

Sprink, Mage, Aspiring Member of the Kirin Tor: You walk through my city, screw up my neighborhood, and you expect me not to light a fire under your ass? Pshaw. I’ll set you on fire again, if these guys ~points behind her at her groupmates~ will let me. So much for your melted throne now, eh? How’s that puddle feel? I’m feeling a bit peakish, can I get a mana potion over here? Yeah, that’s right. Think I might have enough left in me for a good old fashioned funeral pyre…

Tirralyis, Paladin, Blood Knight: Arthas, you could not escape the wrath of the Light. You turned your back on all that you held dear for what? Power? Glory? A place in the history of Azeroth as more than a prince? You extinguished immeasurable souls in your quest, and all in the name of… No. Respect, Tenacity, Compassion, Tirralyis. ~sighs, bows deeply~ Sleep well, fallen prince. May the Light embrace you in death as it had in life. My your sins be forgiven and your soul cleansed.

Luracae, Death Knight, Farmer: For the first time since I gave my life for Silvermoon… I am free. No longer will your words linger in my mind. “You have slaughtered legions beyond number and still your dark heart craves more. Your hunger knows no end, Luracae.”Yes, I have slaughtered legions of the living for your ends. This time, I have slaughtered legions of the dead for my own ends. Now, my hunger has been sated. But there are many more who hunger for your torment in the afterlife, the souls of death knights gone before us and those they slaughtered. The dead will feast well on your pain.

Karabel, Warlock, Banker: Yes, I’ll take four motes of water, two stacks of mageweave cloth and… Oh? What’s that? Somebody killed the Lich King? … Guess now’s the time to get out of the snow shoe market.

RSS What Has Sprink Been Up To?

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

  • None
  • Sprink: @Veng I still have to do the other side of the centaur, and I just stepped foot into Silithis, so I feel like I'm pretty much right on track for Kali
  • Tam: Wow, congratulations. I am far too lazy for this kind of thing - but I love the Darrowshire questline, it's beautiful. And, not being on a PvP server
  • Markus: Good luck! I think I am about 200 quests from completing the Kalimdor portion. Going back to Desolace for those quests just makes me want to hurl.

What’s That, Back There?

