Sprink Notes

A Star Is Born

Posted on: January 9, 2010

or, A Tank is Born… and Promptly Hit. Repeatedly.

Gonna shout it from the mountaintops
A star is born
It’s a time for pulling out the stops
A star is—

HOLD UP!

I have a confession to make. I’ve been holding off on tanking with Tirralyis. At least until Northrend. Why, you ask? I don’t feel comfortable walking into a dungeon unless I’m pretty familiar with the fights. And when it comes to random dungeons, the Northrend ones are the ones I’m most familiar with. So she finally dinged 70 a few days ago, and I figured it was time to get her feet wet. But I ran into one major snag.

I think I’m afraid to tank.

Sprink is my main. She is a mage, and she’s pretty damn good at being a mage. As a mage, it’s her job to burn things as quickly and efficiently as possible, with a few cackles in between. She is DPS to her fiery core. The mindset that it takes to DPS is vastly different from the mindset you need to be a healer or a tank. You don’t really have to know the dungeon to DPS the dungeon. You just have to know not to stand in the green/purple/whatever, burn the boss, and don’t steal threat from the tank. It’s almost mindless. You can eat dinner, smoke, watch the ballgame, whatever and still DPS.

Being a tank is different. You have to pay attention to what’s going on around you. You have to know where your healer is, and if something goes running at them, throw yourself between whatever hates the healer and the healer itself. You have to pay attention to where your DPS is, and try to keep the mobs within their range of attack. You have to make sure that nothing slips away from you to kill the squishies.

That’s a bit daunting to me. I’ve seen Llementas tank, even before I started playing WoW. It seemed a neat thing, but as I’m sure Valgav can tell you, you can’t ask the tank in the room to grab you a beverage while he’s looking over a group of mobs. I’ve seen Vengilus tank. And if I haven’t mentioned it before, Veng is an awesome tank. I don’t have to throttle back when that DK’s standing between me and something that eats mages for breakfast.

Two nights ago, as I was working Tirralyis’ blacksmithing those last few gains to reach Northrend levels, I realized that I could be sitting in line for a dungeon. I realized the only way to get tanking experience, since none of the usual 5-man group has characters of her level, was to run with random people. And that is a scary prospect to me. I am, at my core, a very prideful person. Where Sprink is my whimsy, Tirralyis is my pride. To fail, to wipe, especially on her, is just… not acceptable. Am I putting too much pressure on myself? Definitely.

So I’m sure everyone’s wondering if I cued up. I did, but not for a random. I’d run Nexus on Sprink earlier in the day for a random, and with the dungeon fresh in my mind, cued her up for Nexus. I almost un-cued as soon as I hit the accept button, but I made myself do it. As soon as the group came together, the first thing I mentioned was that it was the first time I had ever tanked. The healer, bless his heart, was very supportive.

I won’t bore you with the details of everything. I managed to keep threat on everything except Keristrasza, which the shaman stole threat as I oomed (bad paladin is bad), but there were no deaths. None. So, pride a little wounded, but coming out on top, Tirralyis is here to stay… and tank. ^_^

Ev’ry night a star is
Right in sight a star is
Burning bright a star is born!

(Lyrics from Disney’s Hercules)

Tags: ,

1 Response to "A Star Is Born"

I’ve watched you play Tirralyis. When it comes to prot pallies, you’re a natural.

Comments are closed.

RSS What Has Sprink Been Up To?

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

  • None
  • Sprink: @Veng I still have to do the other side of the centaur, and I just stepped foot into Silithis, so I feel like I'm pretty much right on track for Kali
  • Tam: Wow, congratulations. I am far too lazy for this kind of thing - but I love the Darrowshire questline, it's beautiful. And, not being on a PvP server
  • Markus: Good luck! I think I am about 200 quests from completing the Kalimdor portion. Going back to Desolace for those quests just makes me want to hurl.

What’s That, Back There?

