Sprink Notes

Trinkets Are a Girls’ Best Friend

Posted on: September 23, 2009

Or, Sprink gets a new toy.

After starting the holiday cheese, I got invited by a few friends to go kill Direbrew. Now, I didn’t start playing WoW until Novembre of last year, so we’re coming up on my one year WoW-naversary. But that’s another post for another day. Today, let’s talk trinkets.

I walked into the fight with the Abyssal Rune from ToC and the Mark of the War Prisoner from Cyanigosa. I also was enjoying the benefits of Lightweave Embroidery, thanks to my awesome tailoring skills. I was pulling a solid 2k to 2200 dps without having to worry about stealing threat from the tank, thanks to that patch that fixed the whole Living Bomb/Hot Streak “issue.”

After a few downs of the not-so-impressive Direbrew, he dropped something for me. That’s right. Sprink is now rocking a nifty little Mithril Pocketwatch. Now, I’m not sure where she keeps it, considering her dress doesn’t seem to have pockets, but details, details. The next fight, I noticed a little better dps, but my procs weren’t lining up and overlapping. However, the fight after that…

Lightweave Embroidery – +295 Spellpower
Elusive Power (Abyssal Rune) – +590 Spellpower
The Time Is Now (Mithril Pocketwatch) – +590 Spellpower

That’s an additional 1475 Spellpower all stacked into one when they all proc together. Which they did. And it was a firestorm of Living Bomb explosions, Hot Streaks, and all of a sudden I absolutely skyrocketed to the top of the threat meter.  We’re talking a literal firestorm here. Yellow numbers all over the screen. Couldn’t even see Recount anymore. Couldn’t see Direbrew or his flunkies. It was just a bunch of glorious, glorious numbers as my health dropped.

Thank the frost gods (I guess) I had Ice Block, otherwise I was going to bite it, but it was… exhilarating. And when it was all over, I was sitting pretty at around 2700 dps. That’s a personal best.

So, the moral of this story is, gear can make the difference between passable mage and competitive mage. Even if it’s one piece of gear, even if it’s only a slight upgrade, if it’s something that will make you better, it will become your new best friend.

On a completely unrelated note, note sure if they added it in this patch or what, but now when I take off on my flying mount, Sporebee (my Tiny Sporebat) also flies. This is one of those little things that really makes me smile about this game. ^_^

RSS What Has Sprink Been Up To?

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

  • Sprink: @Veng I still have to do the other side of the centaur, and I just stepped foot into Silithis, so I feel like I'm pretty much right on track for Kali
  • Tam: Wow, congratulations. I am far too lazy for this kind of thing - but I love the Darrowshire questline, it's beautiful. And, not being on a PvP server
  • Markus: Good luck! I think I am about 200 quests from completing the Kalimdor portion. Going back to Desolace for those quests just makes me want to hurl.

What’s That, Back There?

